Best Buddies Philippines


Frankly speaking, I joined Best Buddies for a simple reason: to show other people that caring for & having a buddy in your life is not something we should be ashamed of.

From the time I knew that my brother was different due to chromosomal differences, I was ashamed of him. I knew that other people would find him different and would laugh and mistreat him. But as each day has passed, we, his family, adjusted to his needs and at the same time learned a little something in the process.

Matthew, my brother & my forever best buddy, has an intellectual disability. He is now 12 yrs old and attends a general education school. He is good-natured and has a beautiful personality. He can make other people laugh due to his joyful attitude. Every time he makes others laugh, we all smile.

My brother has actually taught me a lot of things about life. He taught me how to see things in a different perspective and appreciate life. I have become more patient and accepting and my ability to communicate with others has improved. My brother may not talk very well but he has learned to express himself in a manner that others can understand. He taught me how to enjoy life by finding joy in the simple things and not to focus on the things that don’t go our way.

I would admit that growing up with brother with an intellectual disability was not easy, but it was certainly “worth it.” All the things I have learned by having him in my life have made me a better person to others. I am a better sister and daughter to my family and I am a better friend to my buddy. So, for all the people out there who don’t understand the abilities of children with disabilities, I would suggest you not make fun of them and show them respect because aside from them all being God’s children, people with disabilities bring joy to your life, once you know them first hand.

Best Buddies Philippines was an instrument for me to show my community how young people like my brother, like my buddy should be a part of our society. I encourage all Best Buddies volunteers and supporters to continue to educate others about the abilities of people with disabilities and how they can help this organization by joining the Best Buddies global movement.

We are Best Buddies!

Abigail O. Cinco, Best Buddies Philippines Peer Buddy

About Best Buddies

Best Buddies® is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to establishing a global volunteer movement that creates opportunities for one-to-one friendships, integrated employment and leadership development for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD).

One response to “Best Buddies Philippines”

  1. nelle says :

    i am a special education student.i want to have a best buddy.gusto q maranasan magkaroon ng best buddy.

Leave a Reply

a typical son

two of us are tall and the other one of us is short and has Down syndrome

Chicken Corn Chowder for the Blogger's Soul

Thought bubbles of inspiration, attempted humor, and most likely a lot of pictures and music. (WARNING: You are the only one reading this.)

Best Buddies Young Leaders Council

Educate, Engage, Empower.

michael crawley

Every person is an equal member of the human family.

