Best Buddies: Positive Attitude, Loyalty, and Sensitivity


This story was written by Caiti Bawroski. She answered our theme question: How have you benefited from your Best Buddies friendship?

I have benefited from my friendship with my Best Buddy, Lorren, in more ways than I can say! Lorren’s positive attitude, loyalty, and sensitivity have made her one of the best friends that I have ever had.

Lorren always has words of encouragement when I am feeling down. Ever since I became College Buddy Director, she has constantly told me about what a good job she thinks that I am doing.

Whenever I talk to her about an event I am trying to put together, she always says, “That’s why you are president. You have the best ideas!” Sometimes I doubt my abilities to be a good leader to my chapter, but Lorren is always there to support me and to help me see my abilities!

Lorren has also proven to be a very loyal friend. While I feel that some people tend to make empty promises that they don’t always keep, I know that I can always count on my Best Buddy. If she tells me that she is going to call me at a certain time, she never fails to do so. She also attends almost every Best Buddies event that our chapter holds. Lorren proves time and time again to be someone who I can count on! I never have to question if she is a true friend to me because she never lets me down!

Last but not least, Lorren is always sensitive to my feelings. Whenever I see her, the first thing she does is ask me how I am doing. She wants to make sure that I am well, and if I am not doing well, she wants to know why and talk about it. If I am upset, Lorren becomes upset too. On the rare occasion that Lorren cannot attend a Best Buddies event, she immediately apologizes and makes sure that my feelings are not hurt. It is great to have a friend who cares so much about my feelings!

All in all, you can see that I have benefited in many ways from my Best Buddies friendship! Lorren has many qualities that make her a great friend to have, and I cannot imagine my life without her. Who would not benefit from having her as a friend? I am very lucky!

About Best Buddies

Best Buddies® is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to establishing a global volunteer movement that creates opportunities for one-to-one friendships, integrated employment and leadership development for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD).

2 responses to “Best Buddies: Positive Attitude, Loyalty, and Sensitivity”

  1. freewaydog says :

    I am happy for you & Loren, Caiti! ❤

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Qualities of a Winner - February 16, 2010

Leave a Reply

a typical son

two of us are tall and the other one of us is short and has Down syndrome

Chicken Corn Chowder for the Blogger's Soul

Thought bubbles of inspiration, attempted humor, and most likely a lot of pictures and music. (WARNING: You are the only one reading this.)

Best Buddies Young Leaders Council

Educate, Engage, Empower.

michael crawley

Every person is an equal member of the human family.

