Mexico


Best Buddies Mexico was launched in 2003 with one chapter.  Seven years later, BB Mexico boasts 34 College and 7 High School Chapters as well as Citizens matches in 8 cities with over 550 matches and over 1,150 volunteers.

Below is a testimonial from Jorge Sierra & Adrian Hernandez, a buddy pair since August 2008.

Adrian and I have been part of Best Buddies México since August 2008.  Although I knew him before at Unidos, I never imagined that we were going to have such a great friendship like the one we have now thanks to Best Buddies.

Since we became Buddies, we have connected at least once a week. After all the experiences we have shared over our two years as Buddies, I have never forgotten to be thankful and to enjoy. We have shared many special moments.  Our first activity together was a pajama party!  Since then I have taken him to a visit my University to meet my friends and let them share a little bit of this experience. One great memory I have is a trip we made to a comic convention where we had a cartoon made of us.  We laughed so hard about it, it hurt.

In December, Adrian and Joaquin (Adrian’s brother) invited me to a High School Musical play in which they participated.  I had classes and it was difficult for me to go but I couldn’t resist it, so I skipped class and went to see them anyway.  It was worth it. They were incredible and at the end Adrian said in the microphone to the whole audience, “I love you mom, dad and Jorge.”  Wow!  I felt so good; I couldn’t believe how important I was to him.

Thanks to Best Buddies I had the opportunity to know Adrian and his family, but this relationship has gone beyond the connection and commitment of the program.  With enormous pride I dare to say that I have met my second family, and I love them very much. I know that I can count on them always and I’ll do anything to help them if they need it. Adrian, his family and this experience are really the best things that have happened to me. At almost two years of this friendship, Adrian and I have almost experienced everything together. I have even stayed to sleep at his house sometimes, although Adrian would like that I stay there permanently. There is no day that I don’t learn or experience new things in everything we do.
 
Thanks very much to Best Buddies and everyone to make this experience possible and given me the chance to know Adrian; it has truly transformed my life.
 
Jorge Fernando Sierra Lopez

About Best Buddies

Best Buddies® is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to establishing a global volunteer movement that creates opportunities for one-to-one friendships, integrated employment and leadership development for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD).

Leave a Reply

a typical son

two of us are tall and the other one of us is short and has Down syndrome

Chicken Corn Chowder for the Blogger's Soul

Thought bubbles of inspiration, attempted humor, and most likely a lot of pictures and music. (WARNING: You are the only one reading this.)

Best Buddies Young Leaders Council

Educate, Engage, Empower.

michael crawley

Every person is an equal member of the human family.

