Estefanía and Carmen: Night Out in Madrid


Best Buddies Spain was launched in 2005 and has grown to have over 120 one-to-one friendships in Madrid. Carmen and Estefania have been matched in a Best Buddies friendship for over two years. This story is written by Carmen about their friendship.

I talked to Estefania last night. She told me about her week and how she was doing at work. She was working on flower arrangements for weddings and was very excited about it: “I wish you had seen it,” she said, “I took a big glass vase, filled it with pebbles, put water in it. Then I added flowers, pink and red roses, many of them. It looked beautiful! I´m very proud, my teacher said it was excellent! If you get married one day, Carmen, I will make one for you!!! But it will be much bigger with more roses because you are my Best Buddy in the world!”

It was so wonderful to hear Estefanía so motivated with her new job. She likes changes and challenges and is open and eager to learn new things all the time. I learn so much from her. She makes me value small things in life more!

We had arranged to meet one Friday after work for tapas and dancing at plaza Santa Ana. We were both so excited we arrived on time, which is early in Spain. We started off having some tapas – we both love eating out- jam and potato tortillas, are our favorite!
She told me about this new boy at her work. She liked him because he was funny and came to talk to her a lot. I told her about my boyfriend and that he was very sweet and called me every afternoon. Then we went to Café Central to hear our friend, Tony Zenet, sing with his jazz band. We both new all his songs so it was great fun! We met up with more friends and danced for hours!

I am fortunate to know Estefania for more than two years now and to have the opportunity to develop this very close and special friendship with her. She makes me feel very happy, my other friends adore her and she´s become one of the group.

About Best Buddies

Best Buddies® is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to establishing a global volunteer movement that creates opportunities for one-to-one friendships, integrated employment and leadership development for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD).

Leave a Reply

a typical son

two of us are tall and the other one of us is short and has Down syndrome

Chicken Corn Chowder for the Blogger's Soul

Thought bubbles of inspiration, attempted humor, and most likely a lot of pictures and music. (WARNING: You are the only one reading this.)

Best Buddies Young Leaders Council

Educate, Engage, Empower.

michael crawley

Every person is an equal member of the human family.

