Celebrate Best Buddies Ghana


Best Buddies Ghana was founded in Accra in 2004 as a volunteer run organization. Their volunteers are deeply dedicated to their buddies. Rahman Issah Abdul shares his story about his friendship with Julius Osekre.

When I was first introduced to the Best Buddies programme, I instinctively knew I had to join. I knew I had to help change lives of people with intellectual disabilities and the perceptions our society holds about them, as well, but never in my wildest dreams did I ever imagine meeting a person like Julius Osekre.

Julius and I were paired when I was in college five years ago. At the time, we were both leaders of our chapter; I was a College Buddy Director of the University Of Ghana Legion Chapter while he was the Buddy Director. We became best friends instantly.

Julius and I haven’t had the chance to go out together that much because his family, like many families of people with intellectually disabilities in Ghana, do not usually give him permission to leave the home. So, any time we meet either in his school or at his mother’s place, we make sure it’s always memorable.

Julius is a sportsman and is very very passionate about his soccer. I am amazed at his understanding of the game. We both support Accra Hearts Of Oak football club in Ghana and even though he supports Chelsea and I support Barcelona on the international scene, we enjoy watching soccer matches together along with some friendly competition. Julius has promised to beat me in a twenty meter race anytime I am ready for it. You can be sure the outcome of the race will be made known to the whole world.

His awesome achievement motivates me in so many ways. Julius now teaches in the school he graduated from. His outstanding achievements inspire me and remind me that I have no excuse to fail in life. For me, Julius is the epitome of perseverance, self belief and hard work. We both make every minute spent together count.

Thank you Best Buddies for creating the opportunity for me to meet this wonderful person I call my best friend. I love you Julius.

About Best Buddies

Best Buddies® is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to establishing a global volunteer movement that creates opportunities for one-to-one friendships, integrated employment and leadership development for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD).

Leave a Reply

a typical son

two of us are tall and the other one of us is short and has Down syndrome

Chicken Corn Chowder for the Blogger's Soul

Thought bubbles of inspiration, attempted humor, and most likely a lot of pictures and music. (WARNING: You are the only one reading this.)

Best Buddies Young Leaders Council

Educate, Engage, Empower.

michael crawley

Every person is an equal member of the human family.

