Celebrate Best Buddies Greece


Best Buddies Greece was launched in 2007 by Executive Director Georgia Harvalas. With High School, Colleges and Citizens programs, they have facilitated friendships in the capital city of Athens, Cyprus, Crete, and Thessaloniki.

One of the first Best Buddies Greece matches, Notis and Akis had this to say about their friendship:

Q: What made you decide to get involved in Best Buddies Greece?

Notis: I understood the philosophy and attended a Best Buddies Greece promotional event. I wanted to offer happiness and joy to a person with an intellectual difficulty. I also decided to offer help in order to further develop the program in my country. I saw some very hard facts and understood how difficult life can be. So I’m involved in order to support my Buddy to be stronger and to develop his abilities to face the challenges in the community.

Akis: I’ve known Georgina (Executive Director) for many years now. She gave me some information about Best Buddies and then she invited me to a promotional event. So I said; I’ll do it! Everyone was very friendly there. I had the opportunity to speak with other people involved too. That was very nice.

Q: Describe one of your favorite experiences with your buddy?

Notis: The most precious experience for me is that my Buddy shows me how much he loves me – honestly and deeply. I noticed this even from our first meeting at one of the Best Buddies Greece events. I was very surprised! He makes me happier and more supportive and that made me feel like a better person.

Akis: One of my favorite experiences is the day that we went to the sea. We walked for a while; the weather was good and the sea was calm. I was feeling proud to have someone to talk with and to be seen with someone who is my close friend. Then we stopped to relax in a coffee shop. A lot of friendly people where there, nice music was playing and I tried an excellent fresh juice. I was really happy because I was feeling that now I belong to the community as an equal.

Q: What is your favorite thing a
bout your Buddy?

Notis: What I like very much is that my Buddy is very shy and very sensitive. He speaks carefully and expresses his wishes for his life. He smiles very often and enjoys our discussions. He is an amazing person!

Akis: What I mostly like is that he is very calm. He never gets upset or nervous. He never shouts at me. He takes care of me when we are together. He makes me feel happy!

About Best Buddies

Best Buddies® is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to establishing a global volunteer movement that creates opportunities for one-to-one friendships, integrated employment and leadership development for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD).

Leave a Reply

a typical son

two of us are tall and the other one of us is short and has Down syndrome

Chicken Corn Chowder for the Blogger's Soul

Thought bubbles of inspiration, attempted humor, and most likely a lot of pictures and music. (WARNING: You are the only one reading this.)

Best Buddies Young Leaders Council

Educate, Engage, Empower.

michael crawley

Every person is an equal member of the human family.

