Celebrate Best Buddies Thailand


Best Buddies Thailand was launched in 2006 under the umbrella of the Rajanukul Institute in Bangkok. Rajanukul has a vast network involved in middle schools, high schools and colleges. Rajanukul has also established a family group to increase their involvement in Best Buddies and ensure sustainability of the program. Participant Janjira, shares the story of her friendship with Michael.

When I first learned about the Best Buddies volunteer program, I thought it sounded like a wonderful project that would help someone live more happily in our society. I decided to join and was matched with Michael. Michael is Thai-Filipino and does not speak clearly, but this does not stop us from being friends.

Michael and I like to spend time together and do activities that we both enjoy. We play games, hang out, and attend events- do things that most friends do. I really like Michael. He is a good friend to me.

I know that my friendship with Michael is important. I have promised to be his friend forever and I will be. I knew that Best Buddies was a fantastic project, but what I did not know was that it would change my life as well. I have learned so much about my buddy and about myself just by being a volunteer. I love Best Buddies Thailand.

About Best Buddies

Best Buddies® is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to establishing a global volunteer movement that creates opportunities for one-to-one friendships, integrated employment and leadership development for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD).

Leave a Reply

a typical son

two of us are tall and the other one of us is short and has Down syndrome

Chicken Corn Chowder for the Blogger's Soul

Thought bubbles of inspiration, attempted humor, and most likely a lot of pictures and music. (WARNING: You are the only one reading this.)

Best Buddies Young Leaders Council

Educate, Engage, Empower.

michael crawley

Every person is an equal member of the human family.

