Your Best Buddies Experience Matters To Me, Here’s Why…


2014 Best Buddies Challenge: Hyannis Port

I wanted to share with everyone the below message from one of my staff members.  It’s these stories that continue to inspire me and motivate me to ensure that we keep the Best Buddies mission alive.

Dear Anthony,

I wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed working the Best Buddies Challenge: Hyannis Port. I am thankful for the opportunity to be involved with such an amazing group of people.  The event was a fabulous experience.

I worked the finish line, which included a great group of volunteers from Riverview School.  The energy and enthusiasm of this group filled my heart with joy.  They were such hard workers and stayed until the very end. They were such an inspiration.

Working the finish line also allowed me to see the riders come across.  This is something I will never forget.  The joy and feeling of accomplishment was evident in the faces of every rider.  I witnessed a father and his son that had a disability finish the 100 mile ride.  The father saw his wife and broke into tears. As he embraced his family with tears streaming down his face he explained just how much it meant to him to be able to complete the ride with his son.  He told his wife that his son cheered him on for the last few miles.  He said it was something he would never forget.  I was moved to tears standing there witnessing something life-changing.  That moment will forever stay in my heart.

I also spoke with a buddy that told me he participated in the ride since the first year when there was a lobster bake. His entire family informed me that they all had been involved as well. You could see the joy in their eyes when they reflected on the event.

I left Hyannis Port feeling so inspired, motivated and excited. I loved getting to see the mission in action. Thank you again for this opportunity.  I feel so blessed to be a part of Best Buddies.

Thank you!


In friendship,

Missy Naff
Lead Program Manager, Best Buddies Tennessee

This is just one of the countless stories that I have heard about the successful Best Buddies Challenge: Hyannis Port weekend, and I can never hear enough of them and hope the same goes for all of you.  I am continuously grateful for the support that Best Buddies receives and hope that the joy that this family and others experienced continue to resonate within them.

Have you had a life-changing experience at a Best Buddies event? I’d love to hear it! Feel free to share your story in the comments below.

In friendship,

Anthony K. Shriver
Founder and Chairman, Best Buddies International

Tags: ,

About Anthony K. Shriver

Anthony K. Shriver is the Founder and Chairman of Best Buddies International, which he created in 1989 to foster one-to-one friendships between people with and without intellectual disabilities. Recognizing the tremendous volunteer potential of university students, Shriver first inspired his college peers to personally collaborate in expanding the realm of opportunities that persons with intellectual disabilities should experience. Today, through Shriver’s stewardship and entrepreneurial spirit, Best Buddies® has grown into a leading nonprofit entity with increasing international reach across six continents, establishing a global volunteer movement that creates opportunities for one-to-one friendships, integrated employment and leadership development for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

3 responses to “Your Best Buddies Experience Matters To Me, Here’s Why…”

  1. Richard Kaiser says :

    Our whole family was touched by the friendships and special achievements of Best Buddies with my IDD son David. We participated in the 20 mile race using 2 tandems, and switching off with him on the hills. We made it in less than 2 hours, despite chains falling off the bikes. At the friendship races, we enjoyed the fans and celebrities immensely. As a physician who knows the struggles and disappointments of special needs families personally and professionally, I can say your organization does good for the whole community.

    Our town of Bedford, MA was visited by Lauren Potter , Anthony Kennedy Shriver, and staff this year, and featured stories in our local paper, the Bedford Minuteman, online as well.

    Thank you all for what you continue to provide for families of IDD students.
    See you next year !

  2. Kathleen DiRusso says :

    Since being ‘recruited’ to volunteer in 2004, Best Buddies has become a very important part of my life and my calendar each year works around the events so that I can participate. I have become fond of the events, the staff and have made several bonds with some of the buddies and their families. To say the organization and it’s mission has changed my life would be an understatement. I have learned to take the “inclusion revolution” spirit with me in everything that I do. I look at all people now in a different light, realizing we each play a role in making this world beautiful, we each have goals and dreams and we all can benefit from friendship. Thank you Anthony Shriver and ALL those who make these amazing events such a tremendous success.

    Pinky DiRusso 🙂

  3. George Rogers says :

    SINCE I HAVE BEEN RECURITED FOR BUDDYSHIP AND BUDDY DIRECTING I HAVE MADE LOTS OF PLAS AND HTE SITLL LVOE THOSE BUDDY MATCHES WLEL SOME OF THEM BUT RECENT MATCHES LIKE LAST TWO AND MAYBE THE FIRST MATCHES HAVE BEEN GREAT! BEST BUDDIES IS AWEOSME SINCE ITS ALSO STRVING FOR JOBS FOR BUDDIES LIKE ME!

Leave a Reply

a typical son

two of us are tall and the other one of us is short and has Down syndrome

Chicken Corn Chowder for the Blogger's Soul

Thought bubbles of inspiration, attempted humor, and most likely a lot of pictures and music. (WARNING: You are the only one reading this.)

Best Buddies Young Leaders Council

Educate, Engage, Empower.

michael crawley

Every person is an equal member of the human family.

